Stupid like Aaron

Standard

Have you noticed that when you watch a movie a second time, you see some things that you missed the first time you watched it? It is as if there was simply too much information for your brain to absorb the first time. Knowing the story line makes it easier to notice additional information the second time. You will even notice even more information the third time!

It is the same with books. The first time, your brain is focused on the story line. The second time, you focus on additional information.

This is exactly why reading the Bible is such an amazing adventure. You will learn something new from the same piece of scripture, every time you read it.

Every year I read through the Bible, and each time I read the story of the Exodus, I get angry with the Israelites. Their rebellion sickens me to my stomach. I simply cannot fathom that they doubted God after the ten plagues, the parting of the Red Sea, the cloud column by day, the fire column by night, and all the other signs and wonders God did.

Now believe it or not, there is something that I missed up to now! Did you know that Aaron saw God? not only Aaron; Aaron and 72 other people saw God along with Moses! Don’t believe me?

Exodus 24: 9-11
Moses and Aaron, Nadab and Abihu, and the seventy elders of Israel went up
 and saw the God of Israel. Under his feet was something like a pavement made of lapis lazuli, as bright blue as the sky. But God did not raise his hand against these leaders of the Israelites; they saw God, and they ate and drank.

Right after this encounter, Moses went up higher on the mountain to receive the stone tablets with the ten commandments. And what did Aaron and the 72 others do? They returned to the camp and built a golden calf under pressure from the rest of Israel. I cannot get my head around this one. It really baffles my brain. How can you build a golden calf right after you SAW the Creator of all? How???

I was stuck on this chapter for days. I read it again and again. I still don’t know how they could be so stupid. But somewhere in these few days, I realised that we are actually exactly the same. How many times has God come through for us in the past? I dare you to sit back for a moment and recall those times when you cried out to God in total anguish and He answered with a miracle. Think. Did He heal you? Did He provide the finances when you needed it? Did He answer your prayers? Think!

And now? Today? Do you battle to put your faith in God to sort out whatever giant you are facing? Are you wondering how you are going to make ends meet this month? Are you stressed over health issues? Are you worried about some problem for which you have no solution?

What is wrong with us? We “saw” God in His provision countless times before. So why are we building a golden calf called Worry today? We are so stupid. Just like Aaron and the 72 others.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

