Mary moments in a Martha world

Standard

Our lives these days are fast paced and full of stress. We work long hours chasing our dreams and trying to fulfill our ambitions. We seldom really rest. We get up early in the morning, start running in the rat race and we don’t stop until late in the evening when our bodies just can’t keep up anymore. We race through an entire year towards a short break called holiday and we think that the short break would be enough to restore us. In an effort to live, we end up merely existing.

Yesterday I was exhausted. Physically and emotionally. We have been working very hard, seven days a week, non-stop. I know we will reap the fruit of our hard work in the end but I don’t want to burn out before we get to the point where we can see a return on the investment. Yesterday afternoon I was contemplating this whole issue of balancing life. Balancing hard work with time off without doing damage to the business. Balancing work and rest somehow. And then I heard the gentle whisper….. “You need more Mary moments in your Martha world’.

As they continued their travel, Jesus entered a village. A woman by the name of Martha welcomed him and made him feel quite at home. She had a sister, Mary, who sat before the Master, hanging on every word he said. But Martha was pulled away by all she had to do in the kitchen. Later, she stepped in, interrupting them. “Master, don’t you care that my sister has abandoned the kitchen to me? Tell her to lend me a hand.”
The Master said, “Martha, dear Martha, you’re fussing far too much and getting yourself worked up over nothing. One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it—it’s the main course, and won’t be taken from her.” (‭Luke‬ ‭10‬:‭38-42‬ MSG)

We all need more Mary moments. Moments where we can sit and really listen to the still small voice inside of us. Moments where we stop and just appreciate life. Moments where we stop to appreciate the beauty in the creation God has entrusted to us. Moments to stop and appreciate the creativity He placed inside of us. Moments to stop and make a difference in the life of another person. Moments to stop, love, and be loved. Moments to really listen to another person.

When I did the #100happydays challenge, I got into the habit of being happy every day. I consciously looked for things in my daily life that made me happy. And the habit remained. I still do it. It made a huge difference in my positivity levels. I consciously avoid negative things in all forms and I focus on positive things. I am going to take this one step further. I am starting my own #100marymoments challenge. I am choosing to live life just a little bit slower. To do the little things I want to do along with those I have to do. My Mary moments will not necessarily be spiritual moments, they might just be my slower moments. And I will blog about it, just to inspire you to do the same.

Go on. Have a Mary moment in your Martha world today.

One response »

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

