The Wedding – 2

Standard

Acts 2:17 “‘In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams.

God has ministered to me through dreams for many years.  Last night was such a night.  I had a very strange dream and as usual, it was vivid and on my mind when I woke up this morning.

In my dream I had a bride in my car.  She was dressed in her wedding gown, her hair was done, her make-up was done – she was ready for her wedding.  At least she thought she was.  I noticed many things that still needed attention but she was over excited about her wedding that was only due the next day.  I was driving her up and down to have the things fixed that were out of place.  Her hair wasn’t neatly done – it needed a touch up.  Her make-up was smeared – it needed attention.  The heel of her one shoe was broken – she couldn’t walk down the isle like that.  And so the list goes on.  She however, was thrilled to bits about her wedding due for the following day; she was already dressed.  During our touch-up trip we drove past her groom and his parents.  The bride was in a state as the groom did not yet have his wedding suit on!  He was dressed in normal everyday clothing and didn’t even notice her!

When we were finished with all the touch-ups, she wanted to see the venue where the reception would be held.  What an awful place.  It feels as if I have seen Hades of the Old Testament.  The place was dark and musty.  It had dark pools of water that didn’t move at all.  People were walking around in total oblivion, zombie-like.  Some walked into the water and disappeared without even a ripple appearing on the water’s surface.  It was a dead place, a terrible place.  The bride started crying about the venue that wasn’t ready and the guests that were not interested in her at all – they did not even notice her.  Then I woke up and I could not sleep again.

At first I was confused about this dream.  It seemed the wrong way around.  Christ is the groom and he is as ready as can be.  The church is the bride and we are not ready.  I pondered on this for a while as I was laying awake and I asked God to reveal the meaning of the dream to me.  When I told my husband about it, it all became clear.

The Groom, Jesus is ready yes.  But the wedding is not yet – that is why he is not dressed yet in my dream.  The bride, the church of Jesus however, is so obsessed with the second coming of Jesus, that we are failing to do what we are supposed to do.  We obsess over the end-time prophesies.  We obsess over the happenings in Israel.  Preachers quarrel over different interpretations of the second coming.  This one believes in a rapture, that one doesn’t.  And true to their human nature, preachers allow these little differences to bring division in the church of Christ.  People leave the church in a spiritually immature rage over issues such as this.

I have heard that the coming of Christ is near since I can remember.  For the last 45 years it has been preached to me and actually, it has been preached for the last 2014 years.  I am not saying it isn’t near.  All I am saying is that that should not be the main focus.  The main focus should be the commission Jesus gave us.

Matthew 28:19-20 – Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.

If you spend more time reading the news about Israel than studying your Bible, you are missing the point.  If you are fighting with fellow believers about the rapture but you are not winning souls for the Kingdom, you are missing the point.  If you are judging the walk of others but not doing any retrospection yourself, you are missing the point.  Get your own wedding attire in order – stop worrying about when the wedding will be.  The Groom will come at the right time. Make sure you are ready.

I blogged about The Wedding before – you can read it here.

 

One response »

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

