#100awesomedays no.35 – my sheepy family

Standard

When sheep shearers have some fun…. This happens….
20140630-191632.jpg

Jesus referred to his followers as sheep. Today we often refer to congregation members as sheep with the pastor being the shepherd.

I love my sheepy family. And I am so blessed to have them in my life. I cannot imagine my life without them. Many times in my life I have heard of, and encountered people who do not attend church. Many of them justify their absence by watching church on the TV or listening to the short service on the radio. Some of them go to church once in a blue moon. Sad actually.

What is the Biblical take on this?
And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching. (Hebrews 10:24, 25 NIV)

So there. The Bible instructs you to go to church. Stop making excuses. Stop justifying your absence. Just go to church. It is good for you!

Let me tell you a true story – first hand experience. The husband of a very dear friend of mine was involved in a terrible car accident a few years ago. He was in ICU for 40 days, nearly died a couple of times but survived a paraplegic. In those terrible time while he was in ICU, the church members gathered around her. We made sure she ate. We took care of her household. The men in the church took care of their garden and swimming pool. We took turns to answer her phone so that she could sleep. We made her laugh and cried with her. We carried her. Simply because she was part of our sheepy family. We loved her. Afterwards when the long road to rehabilitation started, she one day passed comment when another lady mentioned that she preferred church on TV: “I am so glad I didn’t have a TV for a church in these last couple of months. TV would not have carried me through this”.

Food for thought.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

