#100awesomedays no.3 – Friends. Really? I don’t think so.

Standard

I am blessed with the most wonderful friends in my life. My yarn store has just added so many interesting people to my life! There is not a day that I do not mingle with the most amazing people. So for today, I am extremely thankful for the friends that God has blessed me with. But that is not quite what I want to blog about.

With the introduction of social media, the word ‘friend’ has lost its true meaning. I have so many ‘friends’ on my facebook profile that I have never met and probably never will meet! They are not friends, they are not even acquaintances in the true sense of the word. Yet many of them have found a special place in my heart despite the fact that we have never met. And then there are ‘friends’ on facebook that I have met and actually know quite well – people I would never call friends in real life. It’s a confusing situation actually.

This morning I had a discussion with a true friend of mine; she was lamenting one of her facebook ‘friends’ that were constantly posting ugly comments on her wall. Let’s call this women Suzy just for clarity sake. Suzy is an atheist and she uses every opportunity she gets to belittle my friend who is a beautiful child of God. My friend didn’t want to ‘unfriend’ Suzy as she felt her testimony was needed. Her intentions are noble, but not necessarily right. God called us to witness and to make disciples, yes. Did He call us to be mocked, belittled and humiliated? No. What did Jesus say to His disciples in Matthew 10:14?

And whosoever shall not receive you, nor hear your words, when ye depart out of that house or city, shake off the dust of your feet.

If you have witnessed to a person once and presented the gospel of Jesus, you have done what you were supposed to do. There is no need to stay and be humiliated in the process unless you are clearly led by the Spirit to do so. You may click the ‘unfriend’ button on people like this. If people do not contribute to your life in a positive way, you do not have to keep them in your life. You may shake the dust off your feet and walk away. It is not wrong.

I believe in positivity. I prefer to think positive thoughts. I prefer to speak positive words. I prefer to be surrounded by positive people. My ears are nobody’s trash cans. I easily click an ‘unfriend’ button. I easilly stop ‘following’ people on social media if their posts are negative. You may do the same.

Be thankful for the Godly friends in your life! Treasure them and pray for them.

friends

One response »

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

