Grow my faith

Standard

Years ago I composed a song “Grow my Faith”.  I wanted to have faith like that of Abraham, Moses and David and that is what the song is all about.  Today, with some more life experience that I had back then, I realise that God cannot grow my faith.  I have to grow my faith.  And to grow my faith, takes a lot of courage.  You see faith doesn’t grow when times are good – faith grows when times are tough.  James explains it so nicely.

James 1:2-4 Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.

I am in a place where I am stubbornly focused on a dream God has given me.  I am holding on to God for dear life, trusting that as I start pouring out the last oil in my vessel, He will multiply it for me like he did for the widow.  I refuse to be sidetracked.  I know my God will never leave me nor forsake me.  I am not disturbed by the things I can see – my faith is the evidence of the things I cannot yet see.

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

What challenges are you facing today?  Don’t try to get out of it.  Don’t quit.  Push through.  Grow your faith.

3 responses »

  1. Jy is reg. Ons moet die eerste tree in geloof gee en vas staan op ons belydenis en dan vashou aan ons Vader, tot Sy seën werklikheid word in daardie situasie. Dankie vir die opbouende woord en hou aan vashou; ons hou jou in ons gedagtes en gebede.

    Like

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

