A heart like David’s – part 2

Standard

David fascinates me.  For more than one reason.  The main reason is the comment about him in Acts 13:22 – he was a man after God’s own heart.  Imagine that.  Yet, if you read through the Psalms, you will notice that David was not always content with God.  He often felt disillusioned.  He was often angry at God.  He often accused God of letting him down.

Psalm 13:1-2
“Long enough, God—
you’ve ignored me long enough.
I’ve looked at the back of your head
long enough. Long enough
I’ve carried this ton of trouble,
lived with a stomach full of pain.
Long enough my arrogant enemies
have looked down their noses at me.

Not quite a friendly conversation is it?  So what made David so special to God?  I don’t think we will ever have a clear-cut answer but there is something hidden in here that we can learn from.  David didn’t turn his back on God.  Not even when he felt miserably let down by God, did he walk away from God.  He had long conversations with God about his feelings and he was quite honest about his feelings too.  There was no pretense.  And almost every conversation had a happy ending.

Psalm 13:5-6
I’ve thrown myself headlong into your arms—
I’m celebrating your rescue.
I’m singing at the top of my lungs,
I’m so full of answered prayers.

David had a real relationship with God.  God wasn’t some far off person that he spoke to once in a while when the entire congregation gathered in the temple.  David didn’t recite prayers to God – quoting all the correct things he felt he should say.  No!  David knew God intimately.  God was his friend.  He had long and honest conversations with God.  And God always cheered him up when he was down.  Go read it for yourself in the book of Psalms.

Do you want to be like David?  Seek an intimate relationship with God with all your heart.  Stop pretending.  Get real.  God knows the real you.  He wants to have a conversation with the real you.  Go ahead – open up your heart.

One response »

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

