Victory Guaranteed!

Standard

I drove behind a cement carrier this morning.  On the back it had a huge painting of an elephant with these words “strength guaranteed”.  Striking advertisement – I am likely to remember it for a long time.

Have you noticed how people are so easily influenced by the advertisements on TV and in magazines?  We buy stuff that will supposedly cut down our belly fat – blindly believing the ad.  We don’t even want to listen to the friends who tried the product and for whom it did not work.  We believe the ad.  Whitening toothpaste.  We pay extra for the whitening bit and never see a difference.  We just believe the ad.  Frozen vegetables that are as good as fresh!  We pay more for those and they always turn out just as bad as the other frozen vegetables.  I can compile a long list here and I know you can add some that I won’t even think of!

Why do we believe the stupid ads so easily, but we battle to take God on His word.  God has proven himself over and over again through the ages.  The advertised products have never proven themselves.  Yet we believe the ads, we don’t believe the Bible.

Let me give you a few things from the Bible that you should rather believe instead of any stupid ad:

Psalm 36:5-6 (The Message)
God’s love is meteoric,
his loyalty astronomic,
His purpose titanic,
his verdicts oceanic.
Yet in his largeness
nothing gets lost;
Not a man, not a mouse,
slips through the cracks.

Psalm 91:14-16 (The Message)
If you’ll hold on to me for dear life,” says God,
“I’ll get you out of any trouble.
I’ll give you the best of care
if you’ll only get to know and trust me.
Call me and I’ll answer, be at your side in bad times;
I’ll rescue you, then throw you a party.
I’ll give you a long life,
give you a long drink of salvation!”

We serve an amazing God!  There is nothing in your life today that He cannot handle!

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

