How big is your faith?

Standard

Over the last few months, I have become painfully aware of how little faith Christians really have.  The biggest reason for our lack of faith is the way we have been brought up.  Sadly though, we pass the same things on to our own children and yet another faithless generation is raised.  It’s an evil cycle that has to be broken somewhere.

Think about this.  Whenever we have a little ailment, we quickly take a tablet of some sorts.  No big deal right?  Wrong.  We have cupboards stocked with medication for every possible little occurrence.  Something for nausea, something for stomach cramps, something for diarrhea, something for constipation, something for pain, something for fever and the list is going on and on.  We don’t see anything wrong with that.  We are quick to take medication and we are even faster to console a child with some medication.  From young, we teach them to take medication for whatever is wrong.

And then something big happens and suddenly, we want to pray.  Why on earth do we want to rally up and pray for a person with cancer if we can’t even trust God with our headaches?  Some of us are on chronic medication; we can’t even trust God for our own chronic diseases, even simple ones such as hay-fever, but now that a friend has cancer, we suddenly want to pray for that.  Where is the logic in all of this?

The ugly truth of this is the simple fact that we don’t trust God.  We don’t have faith that He will keep all the promises in the Bible.  We choose to rather trust in man-made medication.  Only when that doesn’t work, will we resort to praying in the HOPE that MAYBE God will listen and MAYBE  He will help us.  Do you want to know something even worse than this last statement?  GOD WON’T LISTEN AND GOD WON’T HELP.  Why? Because of our unbelief.

James 1:6-8 – But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind. For let not that man suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.

Faith is all or nothing.  Either you have faith and you go all the way, or, you have no faith and you suffer the consequences.  Each one of us need to think about our level of faith in God.  Most of us will have to confess that we haven’t taken God on His word.  Most of us will have to confess that we have trusted in man more than we have trusted in God.

This is huge.  For me anyway.  And I haven’t written this blog on the spur of the moment.  I have been wrestling with this for months.  I felt challenged months ago to change the way I look at sickness and I have.  That is why only today, I have the liberty of sharing it with you this boldly.  I am no longer taking chronic medication.  I have not gone for my vaccinations this year as I have been doing for years.  I cancelled my membership with MedicAlert.  I threw my emergency asthma pump away.  I refuse to take medication.  I know many of you will call me crazy.  I know many of you will get upset about this.  It’s okay.  You have a right to differ from me.  But let me tell you this – previous years, by this time in the winter, I have had bronchitis more than once.  Many winters I ended up in hospital with pneumonia, despite the vaccination against it.  I am not sick.  I have not been sick this winter.  And I am not going to get sick either.  I will not confess sickness over myself – there is life and death in the power of the tongue.  I will just confess health.  I have grabbed hold of God’s promises in His word and I am holding on to them for dear life.

I am blessed with a Godly husband growing with me in faith.  The moment I don’t feel well, I ask him to pray for me and he does.  We no longer give out medication when the children don’t feel well, we pray for them and the sickness leaves.  We need more fathers that will stand up like Joshua and say “me and my house, we will serve the Lord”.  We need fathers who will realize their spiritual significance in the lives of their families.  We need fathers who will stand up against the devil and pray when sickness knocks on the door of the household.  We need fathers who have faith!  Praise God for my husband!

For us, it’s all or nothing now.

How much faith do you have?

2 responses »

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

