Labour and Passions

Standard

For a while now I have been digging deep into my soul.  Hence my erratic blogging pattern lately.  The reason for this soul searching is still Andrew Wommack.  I am listening to sermons every morning on the way to work and every afternoon on the way back home.  It’s a 60 – 90 minute drive, so it’s the ideal time to fill myself with God’s word.  Listening to the endless babble on the radio will not add the same value.

The thing that I have been wondering about this last week, is my job.  Sure I enjoy what I do.  And I know I am studying in the right direction – I blogged about this a few days ago.  Business Process Automation is one of the things I really enjoy doing.  But there are other passions in my heart begging for attention.  Training, motivating and empowering people is really my thing.  I love it.  It gives me energy that BPA doesn’t give me on its own.  I get so excited when I have a day of freelance training ahead of me.  Unfortunately that doesn’t happen often enough.  I find other ways to fill that void. I engage with fellow students, I motivate them to study harder, I encourage them when they are down, I hand out summaries I have made, all just to motivate them to keep going.  I am a social media freak because of this!

So I am wondering.  How does the business analysis fit in with the other passions in my heart?  Passions are there because God placed them there.  So somewhere, somehow, it must all come together.  There must be a higher purpose to all of this.  It can’t be just work for the sake of working.  To fulfill a higher calling will give endlessly more pleasure that performing a mere job.

Old Solomon surely thought about the same thing often!  What is written in the verse below is written quite a few times in the book of Ecclesiastes!

Ecclesiastes 2:24 – Nothing is better for a man than that he should eat and drink, and that his soul should enjoy good in his labor. This also, I saw, was from the hand of God.

Somewhere I am missing something.

Are you missing something too?  Where do your passions fit in with your job?

Are you really enjoying the good of your labor?

 

 

 

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

