Don’t limit God

Standard

Did you know that you could limit God?  The thought is somewhat overwhelming isn’t it?  I know that the principle completely blew me away!

Jer 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

So if God’s plans for us are good, why are we not seeing them come to reality?  Because we are limiting God.  We limit God through our thinking.  We limit God through our unbelief.  We limit God by comparing ourselves to other people.  We limit God by listening to people instead of to God.  Do you want proof?

Psalm 78:41 Yes, again and again they tempted God, And limited the Holy One of Israel.

Israel limited the plans God had for them by believing people instead of believing God.  They didn’t have faith!  And it cost them 40 years in the desert.

Paul says in 2 Corinthians that it is not wise to compare yourself to other people.  2 Cor 10:12 But they, measuring themselves by themselves, and comparing themselves among themselves, are not wise.

It is echoed in Galatians.  Galatians 6:4-5 Each one should test their own actions. Then they can take pride in themselves alone, without comparing themselves to someone else, for each one should carry their own load.

Let me give you a real life, modern day example of this.

In 2006 I returned to the corporate world after 11 years away.  I had lots of experience, but no qualification.  It was hard times and I had to find a way to earn a better salary.  Study towards a qualification was the logical thing to do.  But I didn’t know what to study so I prayed about it.  A thought popped into my head and I know that it was God speaking to me –  “Business Analysis”.  How can I say so confidently that I know it was God?  Well at that stage I had no idea that Business Analysis existed.  I have never heard the term before.  I had no idea what it entailed.  I was completely ignorant about it.  I went away and started looking for degrees related to the field of Business Analysis and found BCOM Business Informatics.  Unfortunately, I discussed it with the people around me at that time.

I was told I will never make it.  The odds were against me.  I had children.  I had a full time job.  One person even had the audacity to say that BCOM is for the intellectually advanced, I wasn’t up for it.

AND I LISTENED TO THEM.  I compared myself with the people around me and decided that if they couldn’t do it, I wouldn’t be able to do it either.  I didn’t focus on what God told me, I focused on what people said.  And I limited God.  I enrolled for a diploma course in management instead of enrolling for BCOM.

Yet, God is so faithful!  Romans 8:28 And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

Before my diploma was finished, I was in a cross functional team as a Business Analyst.  God made it happen without me contributing any thing.  He just placed me there and He blessed me in what I was doing.  Today I am in a good position with a good salary, but I could have had so much more already.  I am busy with BCOM now, and I will only be done at the end of 2014.  I could have been done by the end of 2010 had I listened to God.  But I limited His plans for me and I lost four years because of it.

God created each one of us with special gifts and talents.  Each one of us has a purpose.  Each one of us has to find out from God what that purpose is and how to get there.  And then we have to go full out!  That passion in your heart – it’s God’s doing.  That dream you’ve had for so long – that’s God’s doing.  Stop limiting God.  Stop comparing yourself to other people.  Stop listening to other people.

Follow God without limitations!

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

