Leftovers

Standard

On Saturday evening, my husband treated us to pancakes, the traditional style. Pancakes are an enormous treat to me as I cannot bake them. After many a failed attempt, I have given up. And don’t think it bothers me. A pancake does not define me as a human being. There are other things I do well that many women cannot do. So tough. I cannot bake pancakes. But my husband! Whoooooo he is the champion!

This morning at work I opened my lunchbox to the delightful sight of leftover pancakes. Uhm yes, my darling husband packs my lunchbox every day (told you he is a champion). They were so good, even on the 3rd day of being leftovers. Oh I know many people don’t eat leftovers but I don’t mind it at all. Some food are even better the next day!

Some sermons are like leftover pancakes. You need to hear them again some time after they were preached. We don’t hear everything properly the first time around; we get sidetracked a bit. And we don’t remember all of the message that we actually end up hearing. Some other parts of the message, we just close our hearts to. Some of it we simply do not understand as we are not spiritually mature enough at that moment. So every now and then, we need to be reminded of simple basic Christian principles. Principles such as faith, giving, sowing and reaping, healing, forgiveness, etc.

I encourage you to listen to teachings or sermons when driving alone in your car. You will hear things you missed on previous occasions. You will suddenly understand things you never understood before.

So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God. (Romans 10:17 NKJV)

Enjoy that leftover food! It is as good, if not better, the second time around!

2 responses »

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

