Our Prayer Wall

Standard

She was sitting on the chair in the kitchen when the conversation took place.

Me: There is something that I want.  Will you give it to me?
She looked perplexed and slowly said: Yes I will, but I don’t know what you want.
Me: I don’t know either.  I haven’t thought about it much.  But will you give it to me?
She: How can I give you something if I don’t know what you want?  You don’t even know what you want!

That was enough.  The point was made.  The scene was set for me to explain that you have to pray about specific things.  What do you want?  Think about it first.  Write it down once you have made up your mind and once you have enough specific information.  Then start praying and trusting God.

The first few steps are easy, for most people anyway.  The last bit is the difficult part.  Trusting God.  Believing that what you asked for will come.  Standing firm in faith.

As a family we are in a situation where we are trusting God for specific things.  We decided over the weekend, that we will create a prayer wall in our home.  A place where the things we trust God for will be visually displayed.  It’s a way in which we can teach a young girl the intricacies of standing firm in faith.  There are some things she doesn’t yet know.  But yesterday I realised, there are seasoned Christians that don’t know these things either!

Be specific – be very specific.  Don’t ask for vague things.  Put your faith in action by asking for specific things, specific numbers, specific dates, specific colours, whatever is applicable.  We tend to start off with unbelief; in our unbelief we are too scared to be specific in case God doesn’t answer.  Rubbish!  Kick-start that faith.  Be specific!

Write it down and put it where you will see it every day.  And when you see it, pray about it and thank God for His provision.  Call the things that are not yet as if they are already!  Proclaim it.  There is life in the power of your words.

Watch your mouth!  Shut-up if you feel negative or down.  I can’t say it in a nice way – I feel too strong about this!  If you can’t speak positively, then shut-up.  Shove a sock in your mouth if you have to, but do not speak negative things over the situation.  There is power in your words!  You can either call to life positive things, or negative things.  The choice is yours.  And yes, you will feel down at times.  In such times, you have to stand firm on the Word of God and build yourself up again with scripture.  You have to proclaim the greatness of our God, not the greatness of your problem!  You have to make a conscious decision to watch your mouth and you have to follow through on this!

James 1: 6-8 But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind. For let not that man suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.

Ask in faith, do not doubt!

Oh, and if you are walking this road with us, please keep the above in mind.  I promise you, I will rebuke you if you speak negatively over our situation where I can hear you.  I don’t care about the bad things you experienced.  I don’t care about the bad things your friends experienced.  It is all in the past and I am really not interested.  Tell me about the good things.  Testify to me about the prayers answered so that my faith can be built up.  My ears are not your trash cans.  Negativity is trash I really do not welcome.  Especially not now.

If you have a problem with your mouth, start praying about that first.  Jeremiah says in the first chapter that God touched his lips and God placed His words in Jeremiah’s mouth.  He was only allowed to speak that which God wanted him to speak.  Maybe all of us, should start this week with a touch from God.

Father, please cleanse our thoughts and touch our lips.  Place Your words in our mouths so that our words will be words of faith!  We ask this in the name of Jesus.  Amen.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

