A little trip of solitude please

Standard

There comes a time in every person’s life, when the world becomes totally overwhelming. Too many things happening at the same time, too many people demanding of our time, too much stress, etc.

As a young girl, fresh out of school, I was frequently overwhelmed by the adult world that came down on me much too fast. I remember driving out to the Hartbeespoortdam cableway on a regular basis. Back in the days when a ticket cost R12. There on the top of the mountain, with the wind blowing through my hair, I had some silence in which to sort through the things in my head. I could prioritise the demands and ponder the stresses. The time on the mountain was a broom for my brain.

Time available for little trips of solitude decreased as I got older. Cableway tickets got more expensive too. I learnt to sweep my mind with creative activities such as decoupage, knitting and crocheting. But even that became a luxury in the modern world of technology that I form part of. Family, work and studies fill my days to the brim. There is seldom time left for me to sweep my mind.

The noise in my head normally reaches a crescendo somewhere in the exam period. Like now. There is a red light turning and flashing with an annoying computer voice saying “information overload, information overload, information overload!”

Luckily the end is in sight. Nine days and 3 exam papers left. Then I will have a break. Not a long break, but still. A break long enough to crochet a blanket for my bed. A break long enough to sweep my brain and indulge in time away from the books.

But I would not have made it up till now, and I won’t make it for another 9 days, if I didn’t find another place where I can sweep my brain. A place where the light stops flashing and the computer’s voice fade away. A place where my stress is put into perspective. A place where my worries disappear. A place that is so quiet, so quiet. It’s at the feet of Jesus.

Jesus says in Matthew 11:28-30:
Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Are you overwhelmed today? Go make yourselves at home at the feet of Jesus. Let Him bring the quietness you need. Let Him bring the perspective you need. Grab a spiritual broom and go sweep your brain.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

