Scarecrow

Standard

John 10:10 – The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.

This little verse got new meaning for me yesterday.  Satan’s only plan with us is to steal, kill and destroy whatever he can in our lives.  Jesus however, wants to give us life.  Not just ordinary life but life more abundantly.  Now who is going to win?  What is the determining factor?  Who decides which person will have life more abundantly, and which one will have constant battles in every area of their lives?  Is God the one that decides I will have life in abundance, but my friend will battle in poverty her entire life?  NO in capital letters.

Romans 2:11 – For there is no partiality with God.

My God is just.  He will no favour me and let me walk with goodness and mercy following me all the days of my life, while my friend who is also serving Him, is chosen to walk in misery and poverty.  The Bible clearly says God does not have favorites.  So what is the determining factor?  Who determines whether we have life in abundance, or absolute misery.

We do.

Are you surprised?  Each person is responsible for his / her own life.  Each person is directly responsible for what he / she has.  We are back at that famous little passage in Proverbs that I have been blogging about on more than one occasion.

Proverbs 18:20-21
A man’s stomach shall be satisfied from the fruit of his mouth; From the produce of his lips he shall be filled.

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, 

And those who love it will eat its fruit. 

What we say is what we get.  What we speak out is what we call to life.  We have to eat our words!  It’s not what you THINK, it’s what you SAY that makes the difference.

For years I have been battling with thoughts that randomly come into my head.  Thoughts of unbelief over something that I am trusting God for.  Thoughts of fear.  Thoughts of sickness.  Negative thoughts.  I always thought that somehow, I seriously lack spiritual growth in order to get these thoughts under control.  Not so.  Satan is the one who comes with these little negative thoughts.  He is the one that plants them in our minds, hoping we will entertain them, hoping we will let them grow, hoping we will speak them into existence.  Having negative THOUGHTS is normal in a way as we are in a battle with satan – a battle for our minds.  SPEAKING those negativity into being is however our choice.

I heard a beautiful analogy yesterday.  I cannot prevent a bird from flying over my head, but I can prevent it from making its nest in my hair.

In other words, we cannot prevent the negative thoughts from coming – satan will always try to get us down.  But we can prevent those negativity from growing inside of us.  We can choose not to bring that negativity to life by keeping our lips firmly pressed together, until we are ready to rather speak praise to God and call forth positive things.  You see, when we rather start praising God, the negativity disappears.  Whatever we are battling with becomes small in comparison to our awesome God.  We have to learn to guard our mouths!

I made a conscious decision to guard my mouth.  And it’s not easy.  I am in a habit of speaking out negative things.  It’s a habit I have to break.  I cannot continue to confess sickness and then wonder why God is not healing me.  I have to shut my mouth!

I invite you today to do the same.  Make a decision to guard your mouth.  Ask God to help you.  Ask God to stop you from speaking too fast.  Dedicate your lips to God today!

I want to be a scarecrow.  If the birds of negativity start flying over my head, I want to scare them away with the praises of God on my lips.  Are you joining me?

One response »

  1. I’m definately joining you to guard my mouth least I loose my blessing!
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

