I am blessed

Standard

This blog follows on the previous one.  If you haven’t read the previous one, you can find it here: https://broomformybrain.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/meditate-on-the-word/

I asked readers for their interpretation of a specific verse, but the response was disappointing.  It seems that people are hesitant to openly voice their opinion, in fear of ridicule or disagreement.  That is actually sad if you think that we live in a society that promotes free speech.  Ah, but words are not really free are they?  Sometimes they can cost you dearly.  Anyway, my colleague’s response surely made up for the lack of others.

Here is the verse in question:

Galatians 3:13-14 – Christ has redeemed us from the curse of the law, having become a curse for us (for it is written,“Cursed is everyone who hangs on a tree”), that the blessing of Abraham might come upon the Gentiles in Christ Jesus, that we might receive the promise of the Spirit through faith.

Let me take you back in history.  All the way to Deuteronomy 28.  Moses had given the Israelites the law as he received it from God on the mountain.  And in Deuteronomy 28, he was telling them what would happen if they keep the law, and what the consequences would be if they do not keep the law.  The first 14 verses concerns the blessings that will come on those who keep the law.  From verse 15 all the way to verse 68, the consequences of breaking the law is outlined.

Now we all know that people could not keep the law.  It was impossible.  That is why Jesus came to redeem us.  He was perfect, he kept the law, he deserved all the blessings of keeping the law.  Instead, he chose to became the curse in our place!  So through my faith in Jesus, I get the blessing that He deserves.  The curse that I deserve, is no longer my portion.

To me this was so amazing when it hit me.  I suspect for you, it might not be, not yet.  For you to fully understand the implication of this verse, you will have to look at the blessings and at the curses of the law.

I will blog about both, but I encourage you so long, to read Deuteronomy 28.  And while you are doing so, think about this concept: we deserved the curses, we can get the blessings instead.  Note, we CAN get the blessings.  It doesn’t mean we just automatically have them.  But that is tomorrow’s blog.

For now, go and read Deuteronomy 28.

As for me, I will go through this day singing:

I am blessed, I am blessed
Every day of my life I am blessed
From when I wake up in the morning, till I lay my head to rest
I am blessed, I am blessed!

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. This is so true. If we can only renew our mind daily to grasp this. It’s so important to believe in our righteousness through Jesus Christ. Actually the Word teach us, to believe in righteousness is a fruit that we must produce. I will sing with you today Hilda…..because we are Blessed.

  2. Pingback: Nothing Has Changed | He Dwells -- The B'log in My Eye

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

