My bones are drying up

Standard

Don’t read this if you don’t have a sense of humor.  This is a tongue in the cheek moaning session.

It started with  my knee in 2011.  A knee operation in October 2011 followed.  And to this day, I am still battling with this knee.  I am in pain when I get off my horse.  I am in pain when I walk off the stage after an hour behind the electric piano.  Running is out of the question.  Going down on all fours is out of the question.  I feel old.  All because of my knee.

Then the rest started.  First my one shoulder.  Then the next.  Now I can hardly lay on my sides; my shoulders hurt too much.  I can’t lay on my back either, then I get up with such backache that I cannot sit up straight.  So as much as I long for sleep, sleep is not comfortable right now.

My hands became sore too.  I cannot knit anymore.  I battle to crochet.  My little finger is the worst.  If I bump that little finger, my eyes fill up with tears.

What is happening here?  I am 44 and I feel 94!

In Psalm 6 David laments his life.  He must have been stressed out beyond belief when he wrote this.  It’s so bad, in verse 6 he says “I am worn out from my groaning.”  Imagine being worn out from groaning!  There are some people around me in my daily life that surely never even gets slightly tired of moaning and groaning.  But in verse 2 he says “heal me, Lord, for my bones are in agony.” I feel like David.  My bones are in agony.  Could it be that I moan too much?  I don’t think I moan too much?  Do I?  Could it possibly be that constantly having to listen to other people’s moaning, is causing my bones to be in agony?

David’s moaning about his bones carries on in other Psalms too.  In Psalm 22 he is complaining about his opposition and he says: “I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint.” Okay, I am not there yet.  Something to be thankful for.

In Psalm 31 he says: “My life is consumed by anguish and my years by groaning; my strength fails because of my affliction, and my bones grow weak.”  Anguish, groaning, affliction, weak bones.  Gosh it sounds bad.

But listen to Psalm 32! “When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long.  For day and night your hand was heavy on me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer. Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity.  I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord.” And you forgave the guilt of my sin.” WOW!

Interesting take on that old David.  Unconfessed sin wasting away your bones.  My goodness.  Maybe that is why some of the people around me moan so much.  They haven’t met Jesus yet.  Their unconfessed sin is causing their groaning, and their groaning is causing my bones to be in agony.

But what does Solomon say about this?  He had wisdom from the Lord right?

  • Proverbs 14:30 – “A heart at peace gives life to the body, but envy rots the bones.
  • Proverbs 15:30 – “Light in a messenger’s eyes brings joy to the heart, and good news gives health to the bones.
  • Proverbs 17:22 – “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

My conclusion?  I know I don’t have unconfessed sin.  And I am not envious of anybody.  So it must be a lack of good news that is causing this.  Yep that’s it.  That must be it.  I need some good news for a change.  Good news to replace the stress and worries that is clearly drying up my bones!  Oh and less moaning around me please.  If you don’t have good news, keep quiet.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

