Installing update 1 of 2

Standard

I have been waiting for my laptop to start for more than 30 minutes now. All I get is “Please do not power off or unplug your machine. Installing update 1 of 2”.

I am not one of those with loads of patience, so I have already enquired from my husband whether I can get around this somehow. The answer was no. I have to wait. And wait. And wait some more. The updates are vital. And frustrating. And time consuming.

Just like our spiritual “updates”. They are vital but oh so frustrating at times. Even painful at times.

As Christians, we are constantly growing spiritually. Or at least we should be. If we are not growing, there is something seriously wrong with the relationship between us and God. And it won’t be His fault. If we are not growing, we are not close enough to Him anymore. And not because He moved. Because we moved. But that is a discussion for another day.

Spiritual growth is improvement. It’s becoming more like Jesus. It’s becoming holy. But is it really possible to be holy? Can we as Christians live holy lives? This could end up as a huge debate!

What does the Bible say? That is afterall our “manual”.

“Therefore, prepare your minds for action; be self-controlled; set your hope fully on the grace to be given you when Jesus Christ is revealed. As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when you lived in ignorance. But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.” (1 Peter 1:13-16)

God will not command me to do the impossible. I do not believe that for one moment. So if God tells me to “be holy”, it must be possible for me to do just that. And that command is found in quite a few places in the Word.

Is it easy? No! Each day we try, and so often we fail. Praise God for His mercy! He forgives us for failing and we try again. In some areas of our lives, we grow sufficiently to succeed in changing, in other areas we battle!

As for me? I am still battling with patience. My laptop is still installing update 1 of 2. This entire blog was done on my ipad.

Clearly, my “patience update” has not finished installing just yet.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

