A life filled with passwords

Standard

I hate passwords.  And yet, they are a necessity in the era of internet and social media.

This morning I set out to change my Twitter password, only to find out that I can’t remember the old one, so I can’t change it.  I am patiently waiting for the email reminder of my password to arrive.

I have a secret list with my passwords on.  Okay, most of my passwords – Twitter excluded.  Actually that list should also be password protected.  What an irony.  There are 23 entries on the list and the three most used passwords are not even on the list.  Imagine that.  27 Passwords.  And I know they are not all on the list (eg Twitter).  I am not sure whether I view it as amazing or disgusting. I think the latter.

How wonderful that we can approach God without a password!  I don’t need to remember any special code to open a prayer conversation with my Father.  I don’t need to behave perfectly to come into His presence.  Jesus opened the way once and for all.  I can approach His throne with boldness, just because I am His child.  No secret list required.  No secret place required.  No password required.

What a privilege.  What a relief.

Hebrews 4:16: Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Hilda. Pragtige boodskap.

    Ek dink wel daar is ‘n wagwoord om met ons Hemelse Vader te mag praat.

    Die wagwoord is “Christus” maar dit is bekend aan almal wat wil luister.

    Slegs deur Hom kan ons ons Hemelse Vader nader.

    Groete

    Jaco

    • Baie waar Jaco. Dis hoekom ek kan sê Jesus Christus het reeds die pad oopgemaak – ek het niks meer as Hy nodig nie.
      John 14:6 – Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

