I fall down, I get up

Standard

I saw a tweet yesterday that hit me right in the heart:

“Legalistic remorse says, ‘I broke God’s rules,’ while real repentance says, ‘I broke God’s heart.’” – Tim Keller

Well I have to admit, I broke God’s heart this week.  During the fast I had such peace and I was so strong, but this week!  I lost my temper more than once.  I wrote quite a few snotty emails.  I judged people.  I got impatient with young people with little life experience.  I got angry at those who made mistakes and labelled them as incompetent.  I can carry on with this list but let’s leave it there.

Yesterday on the way home, I was thinking of the little quote above and I felt so convicted.  But all hope is not lost.

God’s mercy is new every morning.  He forgives when we repent with an honest heart.  I don’t have to hide from my Father because of my sin this week.  I can run to Him and ask Him to forgive me.  That is the difference between a legalistic person and a true child of God.  The legalistic person wants to hide his face from the Father, the true child runs to the Father to sort it out.

I am reminded of a song by Bob Carlisle:
We fall down, we get up 
We fall down, we get up 
We fall down, we get up 
And the saints are just the Sinners 
Who fall down and get up

I am no saint.  I am just a Christian under construction.  I fall down, I get up.  I try again.  Perfect I will never be.  Despite knowing that I will never really succeed in living a holy life, God still chose to give me this invite in Isaiah 1:18:

“Come now, let us settle the matter,” says the Lord.  “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.”

You have the same invitation.  What are you waiting for?

 

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

