What do we stand for?

Standard

As a musician, I love music.  All genres of music.  Whether I am at home, at work or in my car, I am always listening to music.  If I can’t listen to music, I am humming a tune.  I do have a little problem though.  I am usually so caught up in my thoughts that I HEAR the music but I don’t LISTEN to it.  That is normally the situation when I am driving.  The radio is playing, I am humming along, but my thoughts are far, far away.  Then, out of the blue one day, I suddenly realise what the artist is singing.  Many times much to my disgust.

It was like that with Lady Gaga.  When I realised one day what she was singing, she got banned from my car.  She is not allowed to sing in my car.  And it’s not negotiable.  The moment I hear her voice on the radio, I turn it off or switch to a CD.  There are a few others as well, luckily they don’t feature on the radio station I listen to.

Two days ago, on the way to work, I switched from the radio to the CD, only to find that my beloved daughter, has once again taken my cd out of the player and left her cd in my car.  Grrrrr.  But I liked the song that was playing, so I left it.  The band’s name is Fun.  The song is called Some Nights.  I must have heard it a 100 times before.  They play it so often on the radio.  I love the rhythm of the song.  But for the first time, I actually listened to the words.  I must admit, the song doesn’t quite make sense to me, but then again, most modern songs don’t make sense.  One piece of the song caught my attention though.

Some nights I stay up cashing in my bad luck
Some nights I call it a draw
Some nights I wish that my lips could build a castle
Some nights I wish they’d just fall off
But I still wake up, I still see your ghost
Oh, Lord, I’m still not sure what I stand for oh
What do I stand for? What do I stand for?
Most nights I don’t know anymore…

Shame, the writer is clearly a very confused person.  But then again, so are many Christians.

We go to church on Sunday, but for most of the week, we do not know what we stand for.

If we really stood for Christ in all His fullness; if we really realised the power and authority we have in Christ, we would be healing people as far as we go.  We would be testifying of God’s miracles as far as we go.  But many of us, are Christians under cover.  We do not know what we stand for.

If you don’t know what you stand for, you’ll fall for anything.

Food for thought.

 

2 responses »

  1. Food for thought indeed hilda! After reading your post I asked myself “what do I stand for” I stand to motivate others who have gone through the same life experiences as myself ! To let them know that the fruits of the spirit as written in
    Gal5 I qoute

    “22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self‑control. Against such things there is no law””

    is what we need to pray for to help us survive in this world with hope of a new dawn as each day progresses ,as we look forward to the day we will meet our saviour the lord JESUS CHRIST! I pray to God to reveal more of what role he wants me to play in the body of christ!!!
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

