In what condition is your temple?

Standard

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. (1 Corinthians 6:19, 20 ESV)

I am so grateful for the fast we had. You see, I am allergic to wheat and dairy. I suffer terribly when I consume food that contains wheat and dairy. But it is so difficult to avoid it. Wheat is everywhere. Pasta, pizza, cake, pies, bread, fish with a nice batter, mushrooms with crumbs etc, etc, etc. It is hard to continually turn away and say “no thanks”. Previously, I behaved for nearly 8 years and for that time, I had excellent health and no weight issues. Then I fell for the temptation and once I started I could not stop. 18kg heavier and with constant asthma and sinusitis, I started the fast and from the word go, I decide that wheat and dairy was on the forbidden list. During this fast, I consumed no wheat and dairy and I feel great for the first time in a long time. I have more energy, less sinus, less coughing and no digestive issues. But there is more. Yesterday I had a revelation about this.

For me, it is a sin to eat wheat and dairy. It makes me sick. It attacks and breaks down my temple. It affects my voice and so it affects my worship. I have to have self-control and avoid the things that make me sick. This revelation will actually make it easier for me to turn away from the foods I should not have. It is no longer a case of I SHOULD not have it, it has now changed into a case of I DO NOT WANT it.

But it made me think of something else. Many people are quick to judge the ones who smoke and consume alcohol. They are quick to quote the verse above and point out that the smokers are damaging their temples. But what about the other such sins?

Think about this. If you are overweight (like me), you are damaging your temple. If you do not live a healthy life with regular exercise, you are damaging your temple. If you do not eat according to a healthy plan, you are damaging your temple. What are you doing, or not doing, that affects your health adversely? Maybe it is time to make a change for the better.

May God help us to first look at what we ourselves are doing wrong, before we are so quick on the draw to point out what others are doing wrong.

One response »

  1. It has been an amazing journey for me because it was my first time to do this Daniel’s fast but its all worth it! I have lost the excess weight though I don’t look big , I weighed over 100kg I guess because I’m tall ! A lot has happened during this journey, lessons have been learnt ! I exit a changed person who has learnt to have more patience, put others first before me, think carefully before I speak and so much more!! Hilda we need to do this twice or thrice a year its amazing what God can do when you fast! May God continue to bless you all !!!

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

