Day 11: THAT peace

Standard

I have wondered about THAT peace for many years now.  Every time I read that verse, it baffles me.

Philippians 4: 4-7  Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

That last line tells about the peace that will surpass all understanding and that will guard our hearts and our minds.  I have never been able to understand that verse.  It’s a promise from God, so obviously it’s possible, and because it’s a promise from God, it’s something that I have wanted since I read it the first time.  But how do we get THAT peace?  I never had the answer.  I couldn’t find any book on that verse.  That baffled me too.  Take the Jabez prayer for instance.  A small little prayer hidden in the middle of a long and boring family register resulted in the publishing of numerous books.  Not just one, many!  If that verse could cause books to see the light, why not the verse in Philippians 4:7?

I think I have the answer.  And it was right there, in front of my eyes, all these years.  It’s straight-forward!

Somewhere during these past few days of really drawing near to God, a deep-seated peace has overcome me.  I am not quite sure when it happened.  I am not quite sure how it happened.  I just suddenly became very aware of it yesterday when everything that could go wrong, has gone wrong.  Yesterday was a terrible day, full of nasty surprises, system problems, disappointments in people, unexpected issues that caused great concerns and so the list goes on.  Normally on a day like yesterday, I would lose my temper.  And with my temper, my composure would leave as well.  But yesterday it didn’t happen.  I stayed calm.  I didn’t lose my temper.  I didn’t raise my voice.  I didn’t use foul language.  I didn’t get the huge headache that usually comes after such a day.  Somehow yesterday, my guard in front of my mouth didn’t AWOL.  My temper didn’t AWOL.  My self-control didn’t AWOL.  I managed to push through with a calm and peaceful feeling about me.

My husband and I had a discussion about it last night.  Not surprisingly, he is experiencing the same thing.  He got a few comments yesterday about his smile that also didn’t AWOL even though he is enduring a very trying time at work.  One lady even asked him for the name of the happy pills he is taking.

So between the two of  us, we had to conclude that this is the result of our drawing near to God.  This is the result of the two verses before the peace verse.  Let me quote it for you again.

Philippians 4: 4-7  Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

We have been rejoicing in the Lord for a couple of months now.  There is no other way to live.  God is just so good, so faithful, so merciful, I can’t do anything else but rejoice in Him.  He loves me! He saved me!  He called the entire universe into being with a word, yet He knows MY name.  Amazing thought isn’t it?  It’s worth rejoicing about.  Every morning we have a time with God together as a couple, after that on the way to work, both of us pray.  I love praying in my car while driving.  God’s company is so much better than that of the radio.  And somehow, God clears the traffic so there is no unnecessary interruption into our conversation.  So in effect, every morning on the way to work, we rejoice in the Lord and we present our requests to Him.  And we listen to Him.  True to His nature, He kept His word.  THAT peace, that transcends all understanding, has come down on us to guard our hearts and our minds.  It guards our hearts and prevents us from feeling resentment to those that let us down.  It guards our minds, preventing us from losing our cool.  It actually guards my mouth too.

It’s an amazing feeling.  I am so sorry that I found the way to this peace so late in my life.  It’s so much easier going through life like this.  I have no anxiety, I just have peace.  I don’t feel rushed and stressed, I just have peace.  And yes, I do not understand it at all.  I still have a workload enough for three people.  I still have five subjects to pass this semester.  I still have responsibilities at church for which I have to make time.  Through all of that pressure, that at times really got me down, there is now just peace.  An amazing peace.  It’s a peace I never want to lose!

Do you have peace in your life today?  Or do you have stress and depression?  Starting rejoicing in the Lord.  Start spending time in prayer and don’t forget the thanksgiving part of it.  God will give you this peace too.  How can I be so sure?

Romans 2:11 God has no favourites.

He gave it to me, so He will most certainly give it to you too!

2 responses »

  1. You see , Hilda , the Word of God is a book of principles . If you do this , God says “I will do that ” . The funny part of a principle is that it works backwards and forwards . If you don’t , He won’t . The choice of how you apply the principle , will determine the result or outcome . You want the peace , you apply the principle the right way , and you’ll have it . It s not rocket science , its a Basic Instruction Before Leaving Earth .Be blessed to be a blessing

    • I think most people miss the point. We have to do first. Then God will do. But every now and then, I encounter people who want God to do first. We have to realise that God doesn’t owe us anything. He already gave His Son. The rest is up to us. Thanks for your comment.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

