Day 10: My God is passionate about me!

Standard

I got a cute sms from somebody a couple of days ago.  It was something in the line of: “God knows the number of hairs on your head.  So if your hair is all messed up this morning, the angels did a stock-take last night”.  I started looking at bad hair days with new eyes!

My husband and I are going through a devotional book by a very well-known Christian writer (I will rather not mention his name), a book about the will of God.  Most of his devotions are very nice, but something has been bothering me for days, weeks actually.  Somewhere he clearly states his opinion, that the will of God does not include an individual blue-print for all of us.  He actually says something like: “if there was an individual blue-print for the life of each person, then heaven would be completely absorbed in the constant update and re-update of these plans”.  I don’t like his opinion.  And I don’t agree with it.  Clearly he doesn’t understand the greatness of my God.  I like the sms I got!

My Bible tells me that God is passionately involved in my life.  Let me give you some examples.

Jeremiah 29:11-13 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

In verse 11 above, it clearly says God has plans for ME.  For ME!  Verse 12 says He will listen when I pray.  If He was just this distant God, with no blue-print for my life, why would He bother listening to me?  Verse 13 says if I seek Him, I will find Him.  That speaks of an intimate relationship with Him.  Based on only these three verses, the Bible proves his theory wrong.  And there are MANY more such verses in the Bible.  Many.

Oh but I suppose the author of that book will now reason that the verses I refer to was not written for me, it was written for Israel and I should see it in that context.  I feel like a teenager wanting to roll my eyes and say ‘whateverrrrrr’!  Maybe it’s because he has all the theoretical knowledge about God, but he has never really met God himself!  If you have had an encounter with God, you will never again believe that God is distant and that He doesn’t have a plan for your life.

When I was a girl of 10 years old, we visited a family that lived on a plot in the De Wildt area.  The plot wasn’t pure bushveld.  With the boys, I played hide and seek in the bush.  But somewhere along the line, the boys plotted against me and they silently sneaked off leaving me there.  I suddenly realised it was all quiet in the bush and I didn’t know which way to go.  I had no sense of direction at that moment.  I sat for a while and wondered how long it would take before my father would come looking for me.  I knew eventually he would come, but the sun was hot and I was thirsty.  While I sat there, I thought, well maybe I should pray.  You see, I had a father who would get up early each morning and fervently pray in the lounge.  Many a morning I woke up to the sound of his prayers.  With that example I decided to pray.  It was a simple child’s prayer.  I simply asked for direction.  When I got up, I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt which way I had to go.  It was amazing.  I remember walking through the bush, knowing where to turn, knowing how far to go, walking straight to the house.  That experience changed my life forever.  As a young girl, I encountered a God who listens to me and who cares about me.  A God who will guide me when I ask him.

Have you encountered God yet?  God knows that you exist.  God hasn’t forgotten about you.  He is passionate about you!  Yes you reading this blog!  He wants to have an intimate relationship with you!

He has plans for your life.  Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

He knows the number of hairs on your head.  Luke 12:7 Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered.

He wants to reveal secrets to you.  Jeremiah 33:3 Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.

He wants to guide you.  Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him and he will make your paths straight.

He wants to lift your head when you are down. Psalm 3:3 But you, Lord, are a shield around me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high.

I can go on with promises like these for days!  But I’ll stop now.

My question to you again: Have you encountered God yet?  You might have gone to church for years, but never really encountered God.  May that change today.  May you encounter my God and have a life-changing experience.

If you haven’t yet encountered God, pray and ask.  A simple child’s prayer will do.  It worked for me many years ago.

 

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

