Day 3: It runs in the family

Standard

Nice excuse hey?  It’s an excuse I have used many times in my life to justify my bad behaviour.  Behaviour such as impatience, short temper and a lack of tact among others.  It is a convenient excuse.  It shifts the blame for my bad behaviour to my family.  It’s all their fault.  It’s not my fault.  Feel sorry for me!  Just imagine what I had to endure with family like that!  Pity me!  I can’t change this, I am stuck with it, it’s in my blood.

Yeah whatever.

It’s been a while that I have been sweeping these thoughts up and down the alley of my heart.  Every time it appeared in front of my broom, I swept it under the closest carpet.  I didn’t want to think about it too much.  Deep down I knew, that if I start thinking and start listening to the voice of Holy Spirit, I will have to change.  Normally I don’t mind change, as long as it’s not me that have to change.  Changing my character hurts.  It’s difficult.  It’s even worse when all the people around me know I am trying to change.  Like now.  I can’t sweep this under the carpet today.  It bothers me.  I have been convicted.

So can I really just shake my family characteristics?  Yes I can.  God said it, I believe it, that settles it.

2 Corinthians 5:17 – Whoever is a believer in Christ is a new creation. The old way of living has disappeared. A new way of living has come into existence.

I am in Christ.  I am a new creation.  The old person has died.  She tries to resurrect herself every now and then and if I keep on sweeping my convictions under the carpet, she will come to life in all her fullness.  I don’t want that.  Believe me, you don’t want that either.  Those that knew me before I became a new creature in Christ will wholeheartedly testify to that.  I have to keep the old creature where she belongs – dead.

So how do I change this?  The concept is easy, the implementation thereof might be more difficult.  It’s just a mindset.  It’s realising that I am no longer ruled by family blood lines, I am ruled by the Spirit of God who dwells in me.  I can be different, if I decide to be.  Is a mind over matter decision that is required.  I have to decide to bear the fruit of the Spirit and I have to work diligently towards it.  It’s exchanging a bad habit for a good one.  Instead of being impatient, I have to work on being patient until it becomes second nature.  And it can be done.  If it was impossible, God would not have listed the fruit of the Spirit for us in Galatians 5:22 – But the spiritual nature produces love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

I can do it.  I will do it.

Your challenge for today: what bad “it runs in my family” character traits do you have?  When are you going to ditch it?  How about today?

 

 

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

