Day 1: Trust

Standard

“Raisin cookies that look like chocolate chip cookies are the main reason that I have trust issues.”  I saw this the other day on Twitter and had a good giggle about it.  Yes, you will find me sweeping on Twitter too (@broomformybrain).

In yesterday’s blog I mentioned that God will reveal many things to me during this 21-day journey.  Some will be beautiful, some will be revelational, some will be painful to deal with.  The painful normally comes first and this time is no exception.  It started already.  Even before my fast officially started.

The preacher last night was talking in such a calm, beautiful voice.  I didn’t expect anything revelational to come out of his sermon; it was too peaceful, too beautiful, too soft on the ears.  Oh how wrong I was.  He took us to Jeremiah 29:11-12, one of my favourite passages.  A passage I can quote to you.  But last night, something else lashed out at me from God’s word.

I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord. They are plans for peace and not disaster, plans to give you a future filled with hope.  Then you will call to me. You will come and pray to me, and I will hear you. (Jeremiah 29:11-12)

The preacher read the scripture and asked: “So why don’t we trust God? Why don’t we take Him on His word? He says right there that he will hear our prayers.”

Boom!  It struck me right in the heart!  I knew it was for me, but I wasn’t quite sure what this was all about.  Frantically I started searching my heart, trying to prove my innocence on this point.  But when God spoke, I knew I was guilty.  He only had to ask one question: “So if you really trust me, why don’t you pray for the sick when you know you should?”  Ouch.  Major ouch.  Guilty.

I wonder how many times a person has walked up to me and prophesied over me that I have the gift of healing.  Many times.  Different people, different places.  Many times in a dream, I saw myself praying for the sick, but every time I woke up, I simply continued to live in denial of that calling.  It tried to reason it away.  It’s not for me.  I am just a worshiper.  I don’t want to pray for people.  What if God doesn’t answer my prayer?  What will the people think of me?

Last night I had to deal with my trust issue.  And I did.  In faith I will take up this calling.  In faith I will be obedient.  Whether God heals a person or not is not my problem.  Being obedient is.  It is as simple as that.

Do you trust God?  Do you trust God enough to take all the promises in the Word and make them your own?  Do you really?  Search your own heart today.  If you too have a trust issue, decide today to replace it with faith.  I will leave you to meditate on this scripture today:

Numbers 23:19 – God is not a man, that he should lie, nor a son of man, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill?

4 responses »

  1. John 15:5 (Amplified)”I am the true vine, you are the branch. Whoever lives in Me and I in him bears much fruit. However, apart from Me you can do nothing.”
    If I am a branch, that what is in the vine must surely also be in me. So, for me, I believe that I have all the gifts. Come the tight time and place, the Lord will let me use them all.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

