Adjusting my focus, adjusting my direction

Standard

It’s a peaceful morning indeed. I think there are several contributing factors. I started 2013 in church praising God and it felt wonderful. My lungs are not burning due to too much smoking last night; I stopped smoking in April last year. I don’t have a terrible taste in my mouth due to too much alcohol last night; I stopped consuming alcohol two months ago. I don’t have a headache. I just have peace. Deep seated peace. I have a song in my heart this morning – literally. I just flowed out of my mind from somewhere, probably from that deep seated peace place. “It is well with my soul”. And it is well with my soul indeed.

I can look at 2013, spread out in front of me and I can adjust my focus and my direction this morning. I know that whatever will come my way in 2013 will not be too big or too heavy for me to handle. I know that no temptation will be too hard to withstand. I know that I can live a life of freedom in the knowledge that I have been forgiven, for everything in my past and every piece of sin I will still commit. I know that whenever I am challenged, I can look towards God for strength. I know that whenever I am baffled, I can look towards God for wisdom and insight. I know that whenever I don’t feel well, I can look towards God for healing. He is all I need for 2013. My focus is on Him. My direction is towards Him. I am looking forward to this year, because I know this year is in the hand of God Almighty.

My motto for 2013 will be just this simple little sentence: “It is well with my soul”. That one sentence says it all. No matter what, God is in control.

Herewith the words of this old hymn that flows peacefully from my heart this morning. You can listen to it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ru45Tz1aAWk

When peace like a river attendeth my way
When sorrow like sea billows roll
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say
It is well, it is well with my soul

It is well (it is well)
With my soul (with my soul)
It is well, it is well with my soul

Though satan should buffet, though trials should come
Let this blest assurance control
That Christ hath regarded my helpless estate
And hath shed His own blood for my Soul

My sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought
My sin, not in part, but the whole
Is nailed to the cross and I bear it no more
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, oh my soul

And Lord, haste the day when the faith shall be sight
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll
The trump shall resound and the Lord shall descend
Even so, it is well with my soul

May you too have a year in which you can exclaim: “It is well with my soul!”

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

