What is in the box? My lack of faith!

Standard

I don’t know about you, but for me it is quite easy to have faith in small issues. To pray that my headache will go away? Easy. I can do it. To pray that my knee will heal while I know I have some serious damage down there? Not so easy.

Why is it that we trust God for the small stuff, but with the big stuff, we choose to rather put our trust in man? Why do we trust a doctor more than we trust God? I don’t have the answer. I wish I did! If I could understand this stupid behaviour, I could maybe change it!

There are people with the Gift of Faith as described in Corinthians, but for most of us, it doesn’t come naturally. There is a constant battle between our flesh and our spirits. Our spirits want to believe, our flesh battles.

Worst of all, we don’t only have to combat our own flesh when we decide to have faith; we have to combat the flesh of other people too. So often when we succeed in having faith, we listen to other people who don’t have faith and the battle becomes even harder.

I want to put my lack of faith in the box I am leaving behind in 2012 and I invite you to do the same. Life is filled with miracles, we just don’t see it. I want to live with an expectation next year instead of doubt. On my own I won’t make it, but I know God will help me.

Heavenly Father
Give me faith, that I’ll be strong,
And strength, that I’ll be faithful.
Amen

2 responses »

  1. Faith is that curious quality that is so misunderstood.
    Ephesians 2:8
    “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith–and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God–”
    You ask, “Why do we trust a doctor more than we trust God?” We are able to trust doctors only because they are an instrument of God’s healing. Doctors use procedures to heal, it is not the doctor – it is the procedure. Likewise did Jesus. He told the lame man to sit by the healing pool. He mixed spittle with dirt and placed it over the blind mans eyes. When we understand that all healing comes through God, we have an increase in Faith. We see God as healer.
    The faith we need is as Jesus said, “no larger than a mustard seed we can move mountains”. Why? Not because of the faith power within ourselves but, because God can move mountains.
    God has blessed the world with the practice of medicine because He is a merciful God. We are born into a world of sin, of disease, of death. Without medical practitioners, we may all die before having a chance to come to Christ through Faith in His love.
    That is our role in this world. Love. Want blessings – Want to see the power of God? Show love to a stranger. Do an act of “random kindness”. See a need – fulfill it. That is what Christians do.

    God bless and keep you.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

