Boxing Day

Standard

Today it’s Boxing Day. The tradition of Boxing Day started in The UK, but the precise origins are unclear. Some say that the slaves received a box with presents from their masters the day after Christmas, hence the concept of a Christmas Box. Others say a box was placed in church for church members to contribute towards the poor. On the day after Christmas, the box was opened and the contents spread among the needy. Whatever the original meaning, it became just another public holiday celebrated in many countries without any true meaning attached to it.

So what is Boxing Day for you?

I decided to give a new, spiritual meaning to my Boxing Day. Boxing Day will be the start of my annual spiritual clean-up. Today I will start cleaning out my heart and my head. It won’t be a quick and easy exercise; I suspect it will take a couple of days. By the 31st of December, I want to be done. I want to enter 2013 without any baggage.

I can quickly think of a few things of this year I still have to deal with.

I failed in some areas and I haven’t yet accepted the failures. I first have to accept my failure become I can continue. I have to put those failures in the spiritual box I will leave behind at the end of this year,

Hidden in the dark crevices of my mind might be unforgiveness that I need to clean out and put in the box. I don’t want to take it with me.

There are some habits I have to leave behind. Long enough have they ruled my life. It’s time to change. They too have to be put in the box.

I am sure as the days progress, God will reveal a lot more that I will have to put in the box.

My invitation to you: join me on this journey. Start your own box and ask God to reveal the things you have to leave behind before you enter 2013.

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. (Psalm 51:10-12 NIV)

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

