You bird-brain!

Standard

How often have you heard that? It’s a funny way to tell a person he / she is acting stupid. Birds might have small brains, but they are not necessarily stupid. Mind you, I have seen extremely stupid birds this week.

I leave Harties early in the morning, 05h00 at the latest. And I drive right through Pretoria from west to east. And the birds drive me crazy! They sit in the middle of the road every morning, all the way from Harties to Silverton. Why, I don’t know. It’s not just the city pigeons, it’s sparrows, hadedas and more. I slow down to avoid killing them. I am a bird lover you see. But every morning a driver behind me gets irritated with me slowing down for the birds. He overtakes and the feathers fly. So sad.

This morning, it made me think of something. As Christians, we are often playing the same game. Like the birds we position ourselves in a dangerous place and think we will be spiritually strong enough to get away unscathed. And often times, the spiritual feathers fly.

There are some places we should not visit.

There are some books we should not read.

There are some movies we should not watch.

There are some people we should not be friends with.

Yes I know, Jesus said in Matthew 28:19 that we should go OUT and make disciples. The God’s Word translation explains this better: “”So wherever you go, make disciples of all nations”. In other words, live an exemplary life! Testify where ever you go. Don’t be ashamed of Jesus. It does not command you to put yourself in spiritual danger. It will never be in God’s will for you to read, watch or do something that will pollute your spirit.

Think before you act. Whatever it is you want to do, take into account the effect it will have on your relationship with God. If you have the slightest doubt about it, don’t do it. Don’t read it. Don’t watch it.

Don’t be a bird-brain.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

