Faith at the furnace

Standard

The furnace was hot already, yet the King ordered that it be heated up seven times more. He could not understand why the three young men disobeyed his orders.  He could not understand why they chose their own God before the idol he made. They didn’t even attempt to explain it to him either, he wouldn’t understand afterall.  They simply said: “King Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it, and he will deliver us from Your Majesty’s hand. But even if he does not, we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.” (Daniel 3:16-18)

My friend was standing in front of a furnace called cancer.  Unbelievers did not understand her faith.  They did not understand that she could hold on to God even when healing didn’t come.  God is bigger than cancer.  He can heal it.  She knew that.  But even when He chose not to heal her, she still held on.  Why?  Because she knew God intimately.

The song sang at her funeral made it so clear.  Her soul knew Him well.  Her soul longed to be with Him.  That is faith.  Faith in front of a furnace. To have this kind of faith, you need to be intimate with God. You need to invest time into your relationship with God.  An hour or two on a Sunday is not enough.  You need to spend time daily, to build faith like she had.  Only when you can sing a song like this and believe every word, are you on the right track.

Soon – Hillsongs

Soon and very soon my King is coming
Robed in righteousness and crowned with love
When I see Him I shall be made like Him
Soon and very soon
Soon and very soon I’ll be going
To the place He has prepared for me
There my sin erased my shame forgotten
Soon and very soon
I will be with the One I love
With unveiled face I’ll see Him
There my soul will be satisfied
Soon and very soon
Soon and very soon, see the procession
The angels and the elders round the throne
At his feet I lay my crowns my worship
Soon and very soon
I will be with the One I love
With unveiled face I’ll see Him
There my soul will be satisfied
Soon and very soon
Though I have not seen Him
My heart knows Him well
Jesus Christ the lamb the Lord of heaven
I will be with one I love
With unveiled face I’ll see Him
There my soul will be satisfied
Soon and very soon
Soon and very soon
Soon and very soon
If you want to finish this race, you need faith strong enough to stand in front of the furnace. Get intimate with God – there is no other way.
I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

