Are you a thermometer or a thermostat?

Standard

I read the news daily. Somewhere in a busy day, I will steal 30 minutes to see what is going on in the world around me. My favourite time is in the evening, snuggled up in my bed, with my iPad. I read the local news, the world news, the economic news, the business news and whatever else I can find that looks interesting. It has a downside though. Like last night. I saw a picture of women in Egypt weeping with the news of the newly elected Muslim president. They are scared of the sharia law that might be coming. It made me cry too. And it scared me.

What happens in the world scares me often. We are bombarded with stories of genocide. I know many people who have become depressed and bitter with what is happening around us, in South Africa and in the world.

Now back to my original question. Are you a thermometer or a thermostat?

A thermometer merely reflects the current temperature. A thermostat describes what the temperature should be.

If we become depressed, negative and bitter with what is happening around us, we are thermometers. We are reflecting the world around us. If however, we start meditating on the Word of God, we will become thermostats. Instead of just reflecting the world, we will reflect the hope there is in Jesus Christ. It doesn’t matter what is happening in the world, what does matter is what will happen when the world is no more. God needs you to bring hope to a hopeless world!

Decide today to be a thermostat. There are enough thermometers already.

I would like to read your opinion! Leave a comment.

